Blog Rant: Or why I built my own "system"

Now, for a while blogging software was either done by hand, or you ran Wordpress. Time has gone by, things changed, and I didn't keep up with the scene. So now I am looking for blogging software and thanks to the wonders of the internet, there's more choices than you can shake a stick at.

Eventually, finding that nothing really fitted what I wanted, and there wasn't really something that I wanted to pull apart and tweak to my liking I just started rolling my own.

  1. I did try some other software1 for static website building, they were pretty good.
  2. I wanted to change one, little, minor thing in the way the output was done (like hiding items in the menu, or changing order etc)
  3. I want the site to look and feel less modern.
  4. I didn't want everything being centered on sites2

There'll be more content here, but I have nothing at the moment


  1. For added reference, I did try Hugo, and Pelican, I looked at Jekyll, but at that point I was over trying to find something that fit my needs and just decided to take what I know and roll it into something that works for me.

  2. Sure, it's just some CSS to fix it up, but it's trying to get it to work they way I want it with an existing system. Considering it's just a "hobby" thing, I don't care so much for standards, I just want it to be easy.